Filmreview Photos on Instagram

See related and similar tags

@cinevangelist

Heart-wrenching. Disturbing. Unsettling. Gripping. And Beautiful. The narrative is quite predictable with similarities to films such as Taxi Driver and The King of Comedy. Joaquin Phoenix gives an enthralling, Oscar worthy performance in this beautifully shot, arthouse style film. More a character study than a comic book movie. I went out of the theater not really knowing how to feel, and that’s the beauty of it. Make no mistake, this is NOT a superhero movie. It’s rated R for good reason. So parents, keep your kids away. (Mild Spoiler Alert) Batman is NOT in the movie! 4 out of 5 🤡 #joker #dccomics #dcentertainment #batman #joaquinphoenix #toddphillips #filmreview #cinevangelist #characterstudy #gothamcity #imax

0
@better_with_popcorn

0
@rocknreelmoviereviews

New Video on YouTube! I recently purchased Cliffhanger (1993) on 4K UHD Bluray! This video is a quick rundown with my thoughts after rewatching the Sylvester Stallone’s action hit! Link: https://youtu.be/i_bzNfmvhZg . . . #cliffhanger @officialslystallone #slyvesterstallone #moviereview #moviereviews #filmreview #cliffhangermovie #cliffhanger1993 #filmreviews #filmcritic #youtube #video #newvideo #actionmovie

0
@lv.cinema_banter

Joker. The highly talked about and discussed film among both cinema lovers, causal viewers and the parasite we call the mainstream media. Well I finally had the chance to see it with a couple of mates and I was just whelmed you could say, slightly disappointed in fact. The film is a stand alone origin story for the Joker. Following Arthur Fleck, a failed comedian and outcast of society, as well as being a psychologically fragile individual. We see Arthur's transition from a broken man to the Joker at the hands of society. Firstly I'll mention what Joker is pretty great with. Firstly the cinematography throughout the film is depressingly beautiful and really immerses you within Arthur's mental state and the deteriorating state of Gotham City. Joaquin Phoenix gives a very committed and engaging performance. Conveying the mental instability of the character well and eliciting empathy for him. Oscar worthy though? I'm not too sure. De Niro is also a welcome presence as a talk show host Arthur idolises. Lastly I thought the music was implemented really well to, as it really elevates what's on screen. Joker is let down by some questionable direction from Todd Phillips, pacing issues and overall a pretty simplistic and obvious feeling script. The first half of the film really struggles in my opinion, with the last act thankfully elevating the film. It's commentary on society and mental health felt shallow. Overall feeling like baby's first psychological character study. I think this is a worthy criticism as the film takes itself very seriously in these regards. Phillips direction felt amateur and lacked impact in places, again partly due to the script and editing perhaps. Overall it just didn't totally work for me. I am really quite surprised at the overwhelming praise it is getting. Even film of the year for some people, which is really confusing to see because I most definitely did not see the same film sadly. Joker is a film elevated by some of the film making technicals and a really solid lead performance. But best film of anything, I don't think so. It's lucky it got all that media buzz. Overall 6/10 #joker #joker2019

1
@danny.boy_goes_to_the_movies

The Village This is by far M. Night Shyamalan's most divisive film to date. Some people hate it, while others think it's a masterpiece. I fall somewhere in the middle. I like a lot of the ideas that he was going for, and I think a lot of them he nailed pretty well, but then there were also some aspects of the film that fell flat for me. But let's start out with the good. James Newton Howard produced, in my opinion, his best musical score to date. He has done so many great scores, and even gotten a few Oscar nominations, and yet no one ever seems to wanna talk about him. But the music in this movie is absolutely riveting. The cinematography is also gorgeous. The legendary Roger Deakins crafts so many memorable and stunning shots. The acting from pretty much the entire cast is all really great as well. Bryce Dallas Howard in particular gives an amazing performance that goes sorely unappreciated by many. The narrative is also for the most part solid. When it focuses on the main story of our two main characters Ivy and Lucius, it's all really good. And now you're probably thinking "dang Danny. You really love this movie." And I do really like it, but I do have some issues with it. The film does have some subplots and quite a few supporting characters that do not get the needed development they should have. At times they bog down the pacing and they're just not interesting. Also, Shyamalan always has to have a big twist in his movies. This time there's two. The 2nd twist at the end is actually really good in my opinion. But the first one is so poorly done, and it actually kinda ruins the suspense the film had going. That's another thing. This film was marketed as a horror film. But it's really a full on love story, with a few thriller elements. And the film is almost trying hard to be a horror, because the tone is certainly there, but there's just not enough scares to engage in this as a horror. But in the end, I still think this is one of Shyamalan's better films. Sure, it misses a few beats here and there, but I think ultimately the good outweighs the bad. I give The Village a 7.5/10 #TheVillage #Movie #Movies #MovieReview #MovieNight #Film #FilmReview #Cinema #Ok

0
@postcreditsdean

With Breaking Bad easily regarded as one of the best shows of the decade, and Better Call Saul being a solid companion piece, I was hesitant with a spin-off film. As more cash grabs surface this year, my opinion has always been to stay original, without rehashing old plots. My experience with El Camino, shows that there are rare moments when such stories are justified. El Camino is pretty much the epilogue to Breaking Bad, filling in a few plot holes that Jesse Pinkman had to go through before his arc was complete. Even though you don't think you need it, as the run time moves on, you realize how important this story actually is. Aaron Paul gives an amazing performance of a tortured human being, on the run, simply trying to start a new life. A majority of his acting is non-verbal, which relies on you buying the real emotion of his character. In a world with really terrible people, you feel for Jesse's trauma. It continues the Breaking Bad tone,with good realism, very tense moments, and acknowledgement to tiny little details. You see the growth in Jesse's character as well; He's smarter, more planned out,and displays a sense of calm and rationale through some really crucial scenes. My only issue with this that we didn't get more of it; I'd have liked it be more of a 6-episode mini-series where they could really go into the story. But hey, I'm glad they got this right. If you're a BB fan, this will not disappoint. It stays true to the original story, reminds you of why you loved the show in the first place, and holds you in for the entire run time. 8.5/10

1
@infofilm_id

2.169. INFO FILM . Deadline telah membawa kabar bahwa sang Wonder Woman, Gal Gadot telah membentuk sebuah perusahaan produksi dengan suaminya dan mitra produksi Jaron Varsano yang disebut Pilot Wave, dan bahwa proyek pertama yang akan dikerjakan oleh perusahaan tersebut adalah drama berlatar Holocaust yang berjudul Irena Sadler, di mana Gadot akan ikut berperan sebagai tokoh utamanya. . Naskah film ini ditulis oleh Justine Juel Gillmer (Into the Badlands), menceritakan kisah nyata Irena Sendler, seorang pekerja sosial, kemanusiaan dan perawat di Warsawa yang diduduki Jerman dalam Perang Dunia II. Ia berperan sebagai tokoh penting dalam gerakan Bawah Tanah Polandia. di mana dia membantu merawat dan menyelamatkan lebih dari 2500 anak-anak Yahudi dari kamp konsentrasi. . Setelah dicurigai membantu anak-anak oleh Gestapo, dia ditangkap dan dimasukkan ke dalam kamp di mana dia disiksa untuk mendapatkan informasi tentang kelompoknya, yang kemudian menciptakan perlombaan melawan waktu untuk menyelamatkannya dan identitas orang-orang yang dia bantu. . Gadot sangat dikenal sebagai pemeran Wonder Woman setelah sempat muncul di franchise Fast & Furious dan di Ralph Breaks the Internet. Dengan Pilot Wave, ia tampaknya tertarik untuk memperluas citranya dan menceritakan kisah kehidupan nyata dari wanita luar biasa. . Atau, seperti yang dikatakan Gadot dan Varsano, “Kami ingin membantu menghadirkan kisah-kisah yang telah menginspirasi kami untuk hidup … Pilot Wave akan membuat konten yang mempromosikan perspektif dan pengalaman orang-orang unik dan menghasilkan kisah-kisah berdampak yang ditujukan untuk menyalakan imajinasi.” . Sumber : cinemags.co.id . #film #movie #movies #movienight #movietime #review #filmreview #moviereview #cinema #action #comedy #fantasy #scifi #historical #adventure #irenasandler #galgadot #infofilm .

2
@movie_klip

#LAMPOR : Legenda urban yang menakutkan, dipercaya sebagai sosok seram yang terbang sambil mengusung keranda, mencari sosok manusia yang gelisah. Jangan Terlihat, Pantang Melihat. @lamporfilm tayang 31 OKTOBER 2019 di bioskop XXI, CGV, Platinum Cineplex! Mention temen-temen kamu yang mau di ajak nonton #lamporkerandaterbang yuk! #movieklip #film #movie #movies #movienight #movietime #review #coomingsoon #filmreview #moviereview #cinema #filmbioskop #film #movie #filmbaru #cinemaxx #cgv #platinumcineplex #lamporkerandaterbang #filmindonesia #horror #horrorindonesia #adiniawirasti #dionwiyoko #novaeliza #rendrabaguspamungkas #annisahertamidiansidik #uniquepriscilla #steffizamora #mathiasmuchus

0
@jacoblovesmovies

~ [31 𝙉𝙞𝙜𝙝𝙩𝙨 𝙤𝙛 𝙃𝙤𝙧𝙧𝙤𝙧 - 32] Man... Just when you think you’ve seen everything zombie movies have to offer, something like 𝐋𝐢𝐭𝐭𝐥𝐞 𝐌𝐨𝐧𝐬𝐭𝐞𝐫𝐬 (𝟐𝟎𝟏𝟗) comes along. This film has a wonderful, consistent tone that gives audiences so much of something seldom seen in the genre - charm. There’s this pleasant balance of dark comedy and genuine heart that is absolutely charming. The film puts a smile on my face 20 minutes in that doesn’t go away, even if the story is made up of things we should all be very familiar with. Lupita Nyong’o is fantastic in this (as you probably expect) and her performance brings a lot to the film. It’s just enjoyable. Simple and cute, this has got to be the sweetest horror movie in recent memory. . . 𝐋𝐢𝐭𝐭𝐥𝐞 𝐌𝐨𝐧𝐬𝐭𝐞𝐫𝐬 (𝟐𝟎𝟏𝟗) Grade: B 2019 Rank: 29/99 31 Nights of Horror Rank: 10/32 . . . #bluray #blurays #rating #grade #bluraycollector #bluraycollection #moviecollection #moviecollector #filmcollection #filmcollector #film #films #movie #movies #collector #collection #review #moviereview #filmreview #movieaddict #blurayreview #cinema #31nightsofhorror #horror #littlemonsters #zombie #lupitanyongo #hulu

0
@nico_taramasco

0
@midlevelmoviereviews

MOVIE REVIEW🔪 31 DAYS OF HORROR #14 . . Wes Craven's New Nightmare is written and directed by Wes Craven and stars Heather Langenkamp and Robert Englund as an eviler, darker version of Freddy Kruger enters the real world to prey on the actress that played Nancy in the Nightmare on Elm Street movies. I've always thought of this as one of the stronger entries in the Nightmare franchise, even though it is kind of it's own thing, it brought the series back to its roots and made Englund's Freddy scary again. And while it doesn't hold up as well as I remember, it does provide an interesting take and unique perspective on the story, that also reigniting the flame of Craven's creative vision. . . In a lot of ways, and in retrospect, this feels like Wes testing the waters for "Scream." Playing with the idea of meta filmmaking, with his fourth wall shattering plot and self aware characters. Craven definitely has something to say here about the state of horror in the mid 90s, but the message seems scattered and not fully formed within this narrative. Like something he couldn't get off his chest until "Scream," and this was just laying the groundwork for the influence to come. There are parts of this film that I freaking love, most of which take place in the third act, and parts that are just noticeably bad now. It's nice to see Heather back in the franchise, but since she's playing her real self, the performance you get feels a little cheap as compared to the iconic Nancy. Some of the acting, particularly with the supporting characters, is pretty awful. . . I like the overall feel and tone to this film. After years of the Freddy character, being portrayed as a cartoon, it felt like we finally got a version that matched the original and it's terrifying again. Some of the visuals are awesome and the gore that is used, is subtle, but effective. The musical score feels darker and more complex I think the film suffers and gets a little too bogged down by its own cleverness in the first half, but it picks up in the second by regaining focus and hitting us with some of the scariest moments we've ever seen in a Nightmare film. SCORE - 8.25/10

8
@tombykelly

—movie of the week: 𝕓𝕖𝕒𝕦𝕥𝕚𝕗𝕦𝕝 𝕓𝕠𝕪 (𝟚𝟘𝟙𝟠) click the link in my bio to check it out!

1
@tombykelly

hi everyone! i just posted 4 new reviews: * Joker * The Last Black Man In San Francisco * Ad Astra * Hustlers click the link in my bio to go check em out!

1
@staticfancasts

——————————————————————— Batman Movie Pitch! *check out Darkmonolith Expanse's Gotham Knightmare on YouTube* **sorry I haven't posted in a while... I'm in the midst of rebooting DC UNLIMITED.. #batman #batmanmovie #bat #darknight #brucewayne #crime #crimemovie #horror #horrormovie #bradpitt #jamesgordon #gordon #fan #fancast #fanmade #joker #toddphillips #post #movies #moviereview #films #filmreview #filmmaking #cinema #cinematic #director #acting #entertainment #review #reviews

0
@staticstationmoviereviews

——————————————————————— Batman Movie Pitch! *check out Darkmonolith Expanse's Gotham Knightmare on YouTube* #batman #batmanmovie #bat #darknight #brucewayne #crime #crimemovie #horror #horrormovie #bradpitt #jamesgordon #gordon #fan #fancast #fanmade #joker #toddphillips #post #movies #moviereview #films #filmreview #filmmaking #cinema #cinematic #director #acting #entertainment #review #reviews

0
@popculturecrewreviews

GEMINI MAN 3D 😎 -A good movie compels you into its world, which you view through the characters eyes, and gravitates around the actors persona and great acting performance- Seriously, this movie is GREAT. DON'T TRUST ROTTEN TOMATOES 🍅 or other critics ratings. Unlike us cinema goers, they do it daily, and their taste and enjoyment for it is somehow dulled or affected. This movie had great display of next-level-assassin action with wall scaling parkour, and ghost-like presense as Junior chases his target, the old Will Smith. You are gonna be at the edge of your seats, wondering where he's gonna appear, and gasp when he does. Wanna know another good thing?! Watch Will get pummeled by his younger, more arrogant self.. Mercilessly! It's not your standard action movie kind of fights. You can imagine Will Smith as Deadshot in here, but there's 2 of them. This movie was visually spectacular in 120 frame per second 3D with stunning locations! Go see for yourself !! 8/10 ⭐

1
@the_unpopular_film_critic

Zombieland is so much fun. It’s basically the American version of Shaun of the Dead. Let’s explain why. 1. The characters and performances. These performances are really awesome. It’s so fun seeing all these Oscar nominated actors in this before most of them were all that well known. And their characters are amazing as well. Not only are they hilarious, but they are really well developed. They are all real people that have all been through a lot and seeing them all grow as people and a family is really awesome. 2. The humor. This movie is absolutely hilarious. It doesn’t play dumb with the humor at all either. Instead, the humor is smart and really works well thanks to the timing of the cast. And the whole Bill Murray bit was incredible. 3. The uniqueness. This movie takes an unique look at zombies, mostly by the rules by Columbus. The text on the screen and how the rules fit in the story are really great. And the world of Zombieland is really unique in of itself. And finally, this movie is just super fun. I always watch this movie if I just wanna have fun watching a film and it’s one of my most rewatched movies ever. If I have one problem here, it’s that some of the jokes don’t work as well as they used to. But overall, Zombieland is a unique, funny, and fun take on the zombie genre and is definitely worthy of a 9.5/10. #moviereview #filmreview #zombieland #spooktober #spooktoberanewbeginning

0
@im_a_film_guy

All right I’ve been putting it off but here we go, it’s finally talk about the infamous second film in the franchise. Ever since I started looking into Mission Impossible I had noticed that people really didn’t seem to like the second film, honestly I never really learnt why that is, the closest I got had to do with its marketing and how Anthony Hopkins was used heavily even though his screen time is limited to around 6 minutes. When it came to watching the second film I thought it was gonna be awful, but I gotta be honest, I had a good time with it. Mission Impossible 2 isn’t one of the best films I’ve ever seen but I’m not going to deny that I had a really fun time with it, I can exactly tell why I found it so enjoyable but I’ve definitely accepted that I’m in the minority. I found myself more engaged with the story of this film, the espionage elements are definitely capitalised more heavily in this one, but added with an extra spice known as humour. This film is surprisingly funny which was something I wasn’t expecting. I’ve come to terms with the fact that these films are more serious than they seem from the outside, so to have an outing that didn’t take itself too seriously at times was a welcomed change. Tom Cruise is definitely more used to playing Ethan Hunt in this outing as he just feels comfortable to watch, he knows his character enough to know what Hunts strengths are and where he falters. Dougray Scott plays a great villain this time around, in my opinion it’s a nice change when there are personal stakes involved in an action story, but to have those stakes shared by the villain and the hero was a great move. Scott is able to do so much with the role and fully capture the sinister nature of his character, while also in some scenes staying likeable and interesting. I would compare him more to Hans Gruber of Die Hard fame. - Continued In Comments

2
@enrique_matthews

4 out of 5 6 years after the Breaking Bad finale, Vince Gilligan brings us a follow up of the events that occurred and how Jesse Pinkman is now on his quest for freedom. Toned down a big chunk of the intensity that was season 5 of BB to tell a story about a man who has gone through hell to escape the cops and find freedom from all the madness and trouble he’s been involved in. It’s good to Aaron Paul as Jessie again, he puts a good performance for the last time as we see him struggle dealing with his PTSD from him being tortured and his past relationships with former characters from the show that helps him on his journey. It’s indeed a good follow up from the series finale and adds good closure and nostalgia for fans. #breakingbad #elcamino #aaronpaul #bryancranston #netflix #movie #film #moviereview #filmreview #jessepinkman #walterwhite #vincegilligan #tvseries #tvmovie

0
@rforfilm

2 Will Smiths aren't enough to save Gemini Man from being a boring, by-the-books thriller with nothing other then it's gimmick to sell it. 1 out of 5 Read the full review! #linkinbio . . . . . Tags: #willsmith #willsmithsbucketlist #willsmithfan #maryelizabethwinstead #benedictwong #cliveowen #anglee #freshprinceofbelair #freshprince #2019movies #2019film #scifi #thriller #clone #fightingwithmyself #deage #deaging #jerrybruckheimer #jerrybruckheimerfilms #paramount #moviereview #filmreview #robsflickerpickers #clonewars #vs

0
@spade.filmreviews

4
@reel.review

🚨Aliens🚨it's the fourteenth day of the Halloween/horror reviews! I will review a horror/Halloween-related film for every day of October. There will be some classics that I've never covered, some newer releases, some very strange/obscure films you've maybe never heard of, and some cult films. 'Aliens' needs no introduction. After being in cryosleep for almost sixty years after the events of 'Alien', Ripley is found by a salvage team. Upon her return to civilization, her story about what happened on the Nostromo is shaken off by authorities. However, upon losing communication with colonists on LV-426 (where the Nostromo founded the original alien), heads begin to turn towards Ripley as they begin to believe her story. Ripley is then placed with a group of space marines going to investigate the mysterious silence from LV-426. After the success of Ridley Scott's 'Alien', it was obvious that 20th Century Fox wanted a sequel. However, the sequel was delayed for almost a decade because of departure of executive, Alan Ladd Jr. who was responsible for greenlighting the first 'Star Wars' film when no other studio would. In the early 80s, Lucas withdrew from the DGA due to his dispute over the main title crawl and Alan Ladd Jr. was roped into the matter as well. Ladd quit and 20th Century Fox saw their upper management in disarray. Once the studio began to regain their footing, the idea of an 'Alien' sequel was brought up again. Through the ductwork, someone at Fox read James Cameron's original script for 'The Terminator.' Pre-production for 'The Terminator' was put on hold because of Schwarzenegger's schedule conflicts, which gave Cameron the opportunity to write a treatment for an 'Alien' sequel at the request of Fox. The deal: if 'The Terminator' was successful, he had the job for an 'Alien' sequel. His approach to the screenplay was to focus more on terror and less on horror. Cameron drew much inspiration from the Vietnam War- a situation where a superior technological force was defeated by a more precise and strategic opponent. (Continued in the comments...)

4
@weexplainmovies

Round 4 is complete! And here are the resulting ratings of everything we explained ^.^ Be sure to send us any questions you’d like to have answered OR suggestions for what you’d like to hear us explain next 🎬• • • • #podcast #podcasts #podcasting #podcaster #podcastersofinstagram #instapodcast #movie #movies #film #films #filmpodcast #moviepodcast #itunes #spotify #weexplainmovies #ratings #review #moviereview #filmreview #comedypodcast #comedy #theperfection #crawl #confessionsofadangerousmind #repothegeneticopera #jolene #readyornot #like #subscribe #follow

0
@el_cinemamador

Reseña: De las primeras películas de Chistopher Nolan, bajo presupuesto, una gran idea bien desarrollada, y narrada de una manera muy complicada, desde aquí se nota el particular sello de este director, se va contando cronológicamente invertida, sin errores de secuencia y guión lo que conlleva una edición extraordinaria. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️. . . #filmreview #cinefan #cinegeek #moviefan #moviegeek #christophernolan #mementomovie

0
@theloveoffilm

The King and Queen are coming to Downton. Their tour of their country has them staying in dignified homes as they parade across their changing homeland. But what will this mean for The Crawleys and the downstairs staff that keeps the estate alive? Will they both be able to work together to pull off a successful visit or will they embarrass themselves in front of the monarchy? If you’ve watched the series it’s most likely a given that you’ll enjoy the film. I watched every season, even when I fell out of favor with it in the third season, and I ended up being glad that I did. Even if the characters and the situations seemed to be on repeat, they made an impression. I saw that because upon the signature intro music, the journey came flooding back to me. The filmmakers have embraced how gorgeous their setting is and the bump in budget shows. The costumes, the sweeping camera movements and overall scale are all grand. But even if it’s a stunner to look at, I was very impressed that they stayed on track. The film never tries to be anything more than a continuation. A continuation of the same old bickering hustle and bustle. A competition of classes that is slowly fading by way of a more modern life. This film is a nice, effervescent continuation for all the characters you grew to love. Even if some of the guest characters left me puzzled as to why they were even there. But who was I most glad to see? Dame Maggie Smith’s “Granny Crawley”. I’ll be very surprised if she doesn’t get some awards attention as she made me cry. I mean sincerely cry. I can see easily see them making another entry and I’d welcome it. If you wanted to see the Crawley estate on the big screen, do not hesitate to get out and watch it. It’s a nice afternoon or evening at the movies.

2
@luckyboyreviews

I just got out of “JUDY” and if there was every a happy moment in Judy Garland’s life it is not shown in this movie. Renee Zellweger brings Miss Garland back to life with her heartbreaking portrayal of the iconic actress. There is never an uplifting moment in this film and even the hint of happiness, is quickly unmasked to show its shallow facade and brings only pain to the broken performers life. The final scene of this film had my audience weeping and we all left the theater carrying the burden of past, present and future audiences who demand more from our entertainers even when they have left it all on the stage and have nothing left to give. This film shines a light on the darker side of celebrity and Rene Zellweger playing Judy Garland is so fitting it’s scary. We as audiences and Hollywood outsiders only see the surface level of what celebrity brings. In my lifetime alone I have seen actresses like Meg Ryan and Zellweger go under the knife to prolong their career only to further the damage. Zellweger’s eyes express a pain so deep in her character’s face that is so honest it hurts to watch. She is an absolute powerhouse in this role and I am sure will be rewarded with a nomination come Oscar season. It is hard to recommend this movie for anything other than Zellweger’s performance. If you are a fan of Hollywood history or of Judy Garland, I am sure you have already seen this film but for the average person, this will tear the curtain back and burn it down if you are a fan of The Wizard of Oz. It’s hard not to see the fate of Dorthy and watch the movie again with bright eyes. This is truly a heartbreaking story but it is powerful. It is made for niche audience and won’t be breaking any box office records but Judy’s story lives on and she doesn’t want to be forgotten. She lived for the audience and somewhere over the rainbow she can still hear us all applauding. . . . . #judy #judygarland #renezellweger #finnwittrock #rufussewell #jessiebuckley #rupertgoold #luckyboyreviews #thereisstillmagicinthemovies #moviemagic #goldenageofhollywood #hollywood #hollywoodtragedy #tragedy #hollywooddarkmagic #moviereview #moviecritic #filmreview #filmcritic #oscars

3
@ricereviewsofficial

One lf my favorite movies of all time, 'The Shawshank Redemption'. It's a masterpiece, and I don't say that about many films. - - - - - - - #shawshankredemption #moviemasterpiece #film #filmmaking #movies #acting #actors #ricereviews #moviereview #filmreview #actionmovie

0
@cinelipsis

Crítica: Mean Streets (1973) Dirigida por: Martin Scorsese. Calificación: ★ ★ ★ 1/2 . . “Elevar el cine de género para ambientarse en un plano de drama y jugar con la percepción de audiencias más “exigentes” es algo que no siempre sale bien. Precisamente el cine moderno suele carecer de esas historias con personajes abiertos, emocionales y dramáticamente efectivos. Añadirle a esto un tono de ficción es un riesgo que no muchos productores asumen sin apoyarse en una figura central que garantice el éxito. Brad Pitt es uno de esos actores que imprime emblemas dorados en sus películas. El éxito taquillero está siempre garantizado. Y esta vez, con Ad Astra, el resultado no es distinto en cuanto a la efectividad a nivel de propuesta. La gente irá al cine, pero Ad Astra no es la típica película de ciencia ficción. En la última película de Pitt, interpreta a un astronauta prodigioso con un nivel de suerte admirable. Su última misión lo expuso a un peligro terrible fuera de nuestra atmósfera. Esa misma amenaza lo lleva a una reunión incómoda en la que se le propone ir al espacio exterior a buscar la raíz de esta amenaza. La razón por la cual es elegido está en la sospecha de que es el padre de Pitt quien está ocasionando esto. También astronauta, el mismo viajó hace años para un proyecto secreto. Nuestro astronauta solitario y carente de ataduras tendrá que reencontrarse con el pasado para poder salvarnos...”. El resto en los comentarios.

3
@cinelipsis

Crítica: Incredibles 2 (2018) Dirigida por: Brad Bird. Calificación: ★ ★ 1/2 . . 🎬🎬🎬”En el año 2004, hace casi quince años, Pixar estrenó la épica historia de super héroes The Incredibles. Con un tratamiento inteligente y con un villano poderoso, el registro del sello de super héroes para Pixar, era un logro garantizado. Afuera quedaba su guiño crucial a la familia de clase media que hace décadas, y con un sentido ampliamente futurista, debía lidiar con los problemas típicos y los atípicos. Las cenas familiares, la adolescencia, la rebeldía, y las crisis de los 40, no se comparaban con super villanos que querían dominar al mundo. La mezcla funcionaba. Las carcajadas abundaban. Brad Bird dirigía su aporte al cine animado y hasta un Oscar ganaba. Todo parecía ser un camino libre y perfecto para secuelas comercialmente viables, y posiblemente superiores. Y pasaron casi quince años. Por alguna razón, el proyecto fue guardado. Bird continuaba con otros proyectos y abandonaba a la familia Parr. Y luego, sin preparación o aviso, Pixar anunció una secuela para esta aventura que tanto marcó en aquel momento. Hubo secretismo al respecto y no muchos detalles se pudieron saber sobre lo que preparaba Bird en el regreso de los super héroes más disfuncionales que hemos conocido. Y cuando llegó Incredibles 2, la recepción fue cálida y el éxito se logró una vez más. Lo que no entiendo es cómo. Incredibles 2 es una buena película animada. Es entretenida, sus personajes están bien diseñados. Pero siento que algo faltó. Siento que vi otra versión de una película original, y no una maduración necesaria. Insatisfecho como estoy, puedo también admitir que era mejor tener algo que nada. Hubiese disfrutado mucho más si esto solo iba sobre Jack-Jack, el bebé de los Parr que tiene poderes incalculables, y que definitivamente conforma los momentos más valorables de la película. En la continuación, los héroes están siendo “prohibidos”. Los Parr deben volver a lo cotidiano y esconderse. No deben salvar al mundo cuando haya que salvarlo...”. El resto en los comentarios!

2
@diamond_quinn

I FINALLY SAW JOKER!!! And I’ve got to talk about it cause….wow. I’m not one to write film reviews, but this occasion certainly calls for it. Unfortunately, what I wrote was too damn long for Instagram's description so I've linked the full reveiw here: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1SFv6wvG-aVv3QApFkDS3bqx5wNH19p2-fGDsDmWe8J4/edit?usp=drivesdk Excerpt: "Let me start off by saying the criticism and slack this film has been getting by major outlets and supposive “critics” is biased and undeserved. I (mistakenly) read up on the controversy and negative takeaways before viewing the movie, risking my own viewing experience by entering the theater with a potential bias. Luckily enough, reading that garbage did not skew my opinion whatsoever once those credits started to roll. From the opening scene I was immediately introduced to the character and Joaquin had gripped my intention mere seconds in. I’ll warn anyone who hasn’t seen it now, this is NOT a comic book movie. This is a deep, dark character study of a mentally unstable loner, subjected to the cruelties of an uncaring society. Joaquin’s performance is absolutely stellar and even if the story isn’t your cup of tea, it’s undeniable that his talent carries the film. A character study as intense as this wouldn’t work without the right actor and I truly believe noone could have delivered any better than Joaquin himself. Just watch a single clip of him painfully choking back a laugh and you’ll see what I mean. The film feels very reminiscent of gritty decade noirs, or any of Scorsese’s past work (i.e. Taxi Driver). It all seems familiar, but then introduces a new layer of depth by introducing a character like Arthur Fleck. I think what trips me out the most about this film and why I’m so smitten with it is that it effectively put me in the head of Arthur as any good character study should. I’m not saying this film makes you sympathize or excuse his horrible acts. It simply makes you think and understand how he feels and sees the world..." 1st Photo PC: @cosplaycorral

4
@weexplainmovies

Round 4 is complete! And here are the resulting ratings of everything we explained ^.^ Be sure to send us any questions you’d like to have answered OR suggestions for what you’d like to hear us explain next 🎬• • • • #podcast #podcasts #podcasting #podcaster #podcastersofinstagram #instapodcast #movie #movies #film #films #filmpodcast #moviepodcast #itunes #spotify #weexplainmovies #ratings #review #moviereview #filmreview #comedypodcast #comedy #theperfection #crawl #confessionsofadangerousmind #repothegeneticopera #jolene #readyornot #like #subscribe #follow

0
@movie_and_game_reviews_

31 Days of Halloween #14 Hangman (2015) Returning from vacation, the Miller family find their home has been broken into. After cleaning up the mess they continue with their lives, shaking off the feeling of being violated. But little do they know the nightmare has just begun. MY REVIEW: Literally nothing happens until the last 5 minutes. A few unnerving scenes but overall this movie was pretty bad, terrible ending and just a snoozefest. MY RATING - 4/10 #Hangman #Horror #Thriller #31DaysOfHalloween #HorrorMovie #HorrorMovies #HorrorBuff #HorrorGeek #HorrorFan #Movie #Movies #MovieBuff #MovieLover #Film #FilmBuff #FilmLover #Review #Reviews #Reviewer #MovieReview #MovieReviews #MovieReviewer #FilmReview #FilmReviews #FilmReviewer

0
@filmmaker_repost

Repost @antphotography _ ✔️ Follow for more: @filmmaker_repost ⏪ . ✔️Turn On Post Notifications🚨 . ✔️ Tag Your Friends 👥 . ✔️Comment ⌨️ . ✔️Like 👍⁣ ...📍TAG US for a chance to be featured 📍... ...▪️MUST FOLLOW to be featured▪️... ... ▪️Dm📥for Features/Collaboration🤝💪🏻▪️... • • • • • • #filmmaking #production #cinematography #behindthescenes #director #films #filmisnotdead #filmphotography #35mm #filmmaker #filming #onset #filmisalive #actorlife #filmmakerslife #analogue #instamovies #filmlife #cinematic #istillshootfilm #directing #actorslifestyle #workingactor #filmmakinglife #filmreview #cameralust #filmmakersofinstagram #premierepro

1
@chattychums

"Having already swooped in to pick up the Golden Lion at the Venice Film Festival, word on the street is that this may be the first superhero film to genuinely have a shot at Best Picture at the Oscars. Honestly, it’s deserved." - @izscomic #JokerMovie #moviereviews

1
@see_it_2wice

Rocky Balboa (2006) 🎬 Take One The Rocky franchise has sometimes had entries that were grounded with down to earth themes, characters, and stories. Then there are some entries that are pretty ridiculous and heavy-handed and way over the top. Rocky Balboa somehow manages to balance both of these sets of qualities, and while it is far from the best of the Rocky films, it is possibly the Rocky'st of Rocky films. - My biggest issue with the film is that it could've been much more. It sets up the opponent of Rocky in a sympathetic light, but never quite follows through with it. It also had the frustrating quality of setting up plot threads and having their conclusions happen offscreen. Seriously, there are at least three such instances and each are bothersome. The other issue is that sometimes the story itself is just a bit too ridiculous. The premise alone is out there but not unforgivable, but it does seem the film sometimes goes out of its way to be even sillier. - Overall though, it's hard not to enjoy the film. Stallone is so great in this role and here gives one of his better performances. He has a couple of monologues that make you want to run through a wall, and there are some plot threads that are quite good, most of all the story between Rocky and Marie, a woman he met when she was a kid. And yeah, the boxing match is pretty fun, too. - I could very easily see this being a one and done movie for many and I wouldn't blame them. However, for fans of the franchise this is one of the better entries. It's at least worth everyone's time once, but I think for many of us, we'll see it 2wice! #movies #film #films #movie #collections #rocky #rockybalboa #sylvesterstallone #italianstallion #2006 #cinephile #movieaddict #cinephilecommunity #filmaddict #filmreviews #filmreview #moviereviews #moviereview

0
@mattcoopersfilmreview

Hey everyone! Weekly reminder about a meetup for the RoS premiere! I'm going to the Pflugerville Cinemark since all the IMAX theaters are digital and not 70 mm. Shoot me a message if you want to meet up! #film #filmreview #starwars #riseofskywalker

0
@diverse.cinema

El Camino: A Breaking Bad Movie IMDb rating: 7,7 My rating: 9 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ The story that was left to be told... Jesse Pinkman and the aftermath of his imprisonment. Aaron Paul hits it with a lustrous performance, once again demonstrating his acting chops are up to par, considering he is the only major character in this film. Apart from him, the rest of the cast stand up pretty well too, including the late Robert Forster who reprised his role one last time. Vince Gilligan as always did a magnificent job with writing and directing. ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ He wrote the most plausible ending possible for Jesse, that's why it feels so sastisfying to me. He encountered a series of obstacles in his way, including his own state of mind, that helped to raise the tension at certain moments in the film. Those moments kept the mood captivating and intriguing, specially since people who love the show are emotionally attached to Jesse as a character, so we all root for him at the edge of our seat. That is a huge factor that comes in to play while experiencing this film. I found extremely appealing the fact that Jesse had to do almost everything on his own, only with minor assistance. That certainly speaks about the fact of how much he has grown as a character. He acted intelligently, although there are still emotional residues that can make the firmest man hesitate. This is his farewell letter. ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ El Camino serves as a remarkable epilogue to a superlative TV series; the final chapter that remained; the only principal character's arc to be closed, and I can safely say that it is like the cherry on top. A ribbon on a gift box. ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ #elcamino #breakingbad #abreakingbadmovie #aaronpaul #vincegilligan #netflix #jessepinkman #robertforster #jesseplemons #heisenberg #bryancranston #filmreview #instafollow #l4l #l4like

0
@sophisticated_raver

#변신 #Metamorphosis #배성우 #성동일 #장영남 _ _예고편부터 꽤나 흥미가 생겨 기다렸는데 예상대로 음침한 분위기에 기괴함까지. _가장 가까운 가족들을 믿을 수 없다는 사실이 더한 공포감을 유발했고 그로 인해 생기는 불신은 점점 더 커져만 간다. _연기력이야 말할 것도 없지만 유쾌한 모습을 떠오르게 하는 성동일 배우님의 반전 분위기와 진짜 뭐에 씌인 것 같은 장영남 배우님의 연기는 정말. _다만 뒤로 갈수록 점점 힘이 빠지는 듯한 아쉬움이. _ #영화 #영화리뷰 #영화스타그램 #무비 #무비리뷰 #무비스타그램 #리뷰 #리뷰스타그램 #스릴러 #공포 #movie #moviestagram #moviereview #film #filmreview #filmstagram #review #reviewstagram #thriller #horror

0
@vincentrcook

El Camino (2019) // Neo-Western Crime Thriller Film // Directed by Vince Gilligan // Breaking Bad is my favorite show of all time. Therefore, I was very excited when I heard that Vince Gilligan was returning to write and direct a film about Jesse after the show. I knew he would handle it with great care. And while the movie is a tad underwhelming at times, I did find myself loving every minute of it. El Camino picks up right where Breaking Bad ends, and the film essentially explores Jesse’s attempt to escape from impending capture by the authorities. One thing that made Breaking Bad one of the best shows on TV was the incredible cast of characters, and the excellent dialogue and performances which accompanied those characters. El Camino chooses to focus entirely on Jesse with small interactions from some old and new characters. While I feel Aaron Paul does an excellent job carrying the film, it still just doesn’t have the same exciting feel and atmosphere as the show had due to many of those characters now gone. Which, obviously, is unavoidable. Still, this film does present an incredible epilogue for the show that provides some closure and redemption for one of the best and most iconic characters on all of TV in the 21st century. Just like the show it’s beautifully shot, well-directed, has an excellent score, and keeps the overall universe intact making it so much fun to return to as a viewer. Definitely worth a watch for all Breaking Bad fans. // [8.5/10] // #elcamino #breakingbad #aaronpaul #jessepinkman #walterwhite #filmreview #heisenberg #film #review #bryancranston #vincegilligan #netflix #amc

2
@weexplainmovies

Round 4 is complete! And here are the resulting ratings of everything we explained ^.^ Be sure to send us any questions you’d like to have answered OR suggestions for what you’d like to hear us explain next 🎬• • • • #podcast #podcasts #podcasting #podcaster #podcastersofinstagram #instapodcast #movie #movies #film #films #filmpodcast #moviepodcast #itunes #spotify #weexplainmovies #ratings #review #moviereview #filmreview #comedypodcast #comedy #theperfection #crawl #confessionsofadangerousmind #repothegeneticopera #jolene #readyornot #like #subscribe #follow

0
@crybabycrit

Joker (2019) 2/5 Joker is a stereotypical and unclever movie parading as a complex character-analysis. Its attempt at shock-tactic humour is lowbrow and out-of-place – and no, I’m not missing the point. How can I be expected to buy into The Joker as a figure of anarchy if the film is telling me that he fell into the role by mistake? Arthur Fleck/The Joker doesn’t really seem to understand the implications of his actions until the near-end of the movie. That isn’t quick character development – that’s lazy writing. It’s hard to sympathise with the main character as he’s neither a protagonist nor anti-hero. The whole idea that society deems mental illness as villainy is lost on me: the continuous hammering of Arthur Fleck’s erratic and feeble mental state means that while I can’t allow myself to be against him, I can’t relate to him either. Maybe I’m comparing this film a little too much to Heath Ledger’s portrayal of The Joker in The Dark Knight – but of course I am.  It’s disappointing to see The Joker go from being a hyper-intelligent – yet deranged – leader-of-men whose desire to disrupt the system is strangely relatable, to a tactless figurehead – simply another victim of the system – who goes with the flow.

1
@obscure_grotesque

Clownhouse, 1989 dir. by Victor Salva

9
@moviekuy

Zoë Kravitz has landed the role of Catwoman in Robert Pattinson's Batman, a new take on the dark DC superhero. Yuhuuu!! . . . . Mau tau Info, Review, dan Rekomendasi film-film Seru lainnya, Jangan lupa Follow @moviekuy yaa!! KUYY!! #movie #film #filmreview #movies #moviestar #rekomendasifilm #reviewfilm #beritafilm #infofilm

0
@amigasqueveohoy

Hay que aprovechar octubre para revisar lo ominoso, por lo que dedicaremos esta semana a esa figura de la noshe que espera clavarnos sus colmillos de amor y maldición. • La figura del vampiro tiene sus orígenes en la mitología grecorromana, mesopotámica, manipuri, entre otras, donde se documentan descripciones de entidades que poseían cadáveres y se alimentaban de almas o cuerpos para sobrevivir. Una de las primeras apariciones del “vampiro” en la ficción proviene de un poema de Ossenfelder de 1748, que introduce las características seductoras y eróticas de estos personajes. Sin embargo, tres de las más grandes obras sobre vampiros serán del s.19: el relato corto ‘El Vampiro’ de Polidori retratando a Lord Byron; ‘Carmilla’ de J.Sheridan LeFanu, novela gótica sobre la primera “súcubo", una entidad demoníaca empoderada de su sexualidad; finalmente, ‘Drácula’ de Bram Stoker, la gran novela de terror que da vida al canon de un hombre sofisticado, seductor pero peligroso. Durante este mismo periodo, el cine se popularizava, y así nacieron las primeras películas integrando a estos demonios: fue ‘The Vampire’ (1913) de Vignola la que utilizó el término por primera vez en su título. En 1922 aparece el icónico ‘Nosferatu’ de F. W. Murnau, un auténtico vampiro con características sobrenaturales y aspecto perverso llamado Conde Orlok e inspirado vagamente en la novela de Stoker, generando una controversia importante por los derechos de autor. Es en 1931 cuando aparece la primera adaptación de Drácula, protagonizada por Bela Lugosi y dirigida por Browning, que se transformó en un clásico, obteniendo dos grandes remakes: el de 1958, con Christopher Lee como el conde y la famosa versión de Coppola de 1992, estelarizada por Gary Oldman. La popularidad del arquetipo ha producido numerosos films sobre estos personajes que encarnan lo prohibido, la sexualidad, el morbo y el poder. A su vez, son personajes misteriosos que no sigue orientaciones binarias, solo desean la pulsión de la vida a través del sexo y la catársis de la sangre como alimento. Por esta larga tradición, es que exploraremos diferentes películas de vampiros para introducirnos lenta y sabrosamente en Halloween.

1
@livingdaylightsreviews_

“We’re all on the same endless highway. The one with no name, no exits, looking for a way out of tonight and into tomorrow.” Southbound (2015) An anthology series unlike any other. A sure winner among fans of horror films with brilliant acting, storytelling and a synth soundtrack to match. In this neighbourhood no-one is coming to help you and everyone knows your sins. Five interweaving tales of terror force their victims to confront their worst nightmares on a desolate stretch of desert highway. Gripping from the very beginning, the stories created are clever, creative and bursting with a sense of dread. It’s victorious in such different occurrences sharing a continuing impendence of doom from start to finish. Fearsome and void of any cheese or clichés, we’re taken to a place where mystery is at a crossroads with the macabre. Whatever happens, do not find yourself Southbound.

1
@hayleylscanlon

A moody young woman struggling to come to terms with childhood loss rediscovers a path back to human connection thanks to the maternal warmth of a lonely maid and the goodness of an earnest doctor in Gosho's sensitive post-war melodrama, Dispersed Clouds. Click link in bio for full review or: https://wp.me/p1x9li-9se #japanesecinema #japanesefilm #film #filmreview #heinosukegosho

0
@film.reactiviews

JOJO RABBIT Review "Controversial crowd pleaser on a child's perspective of propaganda" Release October 18th, 2019 Audience REACTIONS at its World PREMIERE: 😄😄😂😄😄😄😂😄😄😄😂😄😄😄😂😄😄😄😂😄😄😄😂😄😄😄😂😄😄😂😄😄😂😄😄 (35 scenes with laughs) 😥 (1 cry) 😱😱(2 shocks) 👏(1 applause during film) 🏆Strong Oscar potential 🏆TIFF People's Choice Award Winner Jojo Rabbit (Taika Waititi) is brilliantly funny, securing it the Grolsch People's Choice Award, an obvious choice based on audience reaction during the screenings. There were more scenes of audible laughter than in any other film we saw. Our last film of the festival, we were watching this film as it was being awarded the landmark award of the festival; a consummate way to close off the festival! Set in Germany during the Second World War, Jojo Rabbit is vastly different than the films we think of from this setting. Some will argue that it makes light of the horrors of the time. It is frivolous in its interpretation of the superhero status of Hitler (portrayed as the young character's imaginary friend Adolf) as well as the horrid descriptions of Jews. Some viewers may find this unsettling. While it is certainly much lighter than we would expect from a film on Nazi Germany, there are lessons of acceptance under the humour. From a child's perspective, we can see the effects of propaganda and brainwashing by the state, and the power of personal relationships in changing that narrative. With witty pacing and a dynamic cast, the characters become larger-than-life, but balance with each other in the point of view of a young boy. While this film will be one of the more controversial of the year, it is undoubtedly funny, and is sure to be a crowd pleaser. You are sure to laugh your way through the film and discuss it long after. #jojorabbit #filmreactiviews #tiff19 #film #films #review #movie #movies #filmreview #movielovers #cinephile #filmnews #instamovie

0
@therichreport_

At the dismay of some, I have to keep the ball rolling on these October reviews. I will sacrifice my sleep in order to do this but man of some of these recent films not been enjoyable. Here is my review for ‘Saw’. Check it out through the link in the bio! #Saw #SawMovie #Jigsaw #Movie #Movies #MovieReview #MovieReviews #Films #Film #FilmReview #FilmReviews #MovieNews

0
@expeditionjosh

It’s time for a classic crab on the beach Instagram shot - - I took this on a walk down the beach with friends over 15km along the beautiful beaches. Walking on the beach takes its toll on muscles you never knew you had but it’s definitely rewarding - - When I’m travelling through Australia I try make a habit of walking along the beach early morning it’s seriously close to being meditation - - - - - #filmes #film_com #filmcamera #filmmaking #filmy #filmography #filmgrain #filmaker #filmisbetter #filmreview #filmmakerslife #filmproducer #filmphotomag #filmdirector #filmcrew #filmindustry #ibelieveinfilm #filmforever #filmschool #filmnotdead #filmset #filmmakinglife

0
@thefilmlings

Sparrows (1926)⁠⠀ ⁠⠀ Cinematography by Karl Struss, Charles Rosher, Hal Mohr⁠⠀ Directed by William Beading, Tom McNamara⁠⠀ https://bit.ly/2TORkNK⁠⠀ ⁠⠀ #Film #FilmStill #TheFilmlings #Podcast #FilmPodcast #Filmmaker #Filmmaking #FilmCommentary #FilmAnalysis #FilmHistory #Cinematography #Cinema #FilmHistory #Movies #MovieReview #FilmReview #MaryPickford #SilentFilm #EarlyHollywood #FemaleFilmmakers

0
@the_celluloid_closet

An over-the-hill hitman faces off against a younger clone of himself. That's pretty much your bag here folks! There really isn't all that much to tell you about the film without giving the entire plot away but seeing as they did that in trailer does it really matter what I say. Top Snipers blood is used to create clones with no feeling blah blah. I can't even be bothered articulating an objective opinion on this as I was so underwhelmed in retrospect. Don't get me wrong, this isn't a terrible movie I've seen much much worse, however, going into this movie I knew everything already from the trailer! That was the first marketing mistake! The good: Will Smith is back on top form, after dividing critics with his interpretation of the genie in Aladdin (which I loved) Smith is back in the kind of role that made him a huge star. He gives a good performance. The Bad: everything is given away far too early. The reaction of Smith's character to his clone after their first battle is so Blaise, it's so obviously looks like him why he wasn't more surprised or inquisitive was beyond me. Mary Elizabeth Winstead's Danni was an expendable character that really serves no purpose in the movie. She gets her chance to kick some ass but is mostly caught in the crossfire and is pointless! The complete lack of action is what makes this feel so underwhelming, we were promised big and got half of that. Nothing really blew me away! The Ugly: The CGI is too obvious, GG Will looks like a CG Will, it's like a very advanced video game character the movement is too cartoonish but the real giveaway is Ang Lee's use high frame rate projection, which makes the dubbing and fight sequences look too animated and out of sync with everything else! Ang Lee used to be an engaging filmaker who created art but has become an apostle of technology shooting at 120 frames per second reaching for hyperreality that is in danger of stumbling down a rabbit hole of techno festishism! It's a lumbering sci-fi thriller that fails to dazzle and only acts as further example of Ang Lee deluding himself that digital is now a necessary syndrome of cinema! The Biggest disappointment of the year!

5
@movies_with_migs

First time at this theater!! Screening @disneymaleficent with the lovely ladies tonight. Be back later with a #QuickReview #Disney #MistressOfEvil #Maleficent #DefyLife #FilmReview #EarlyReview #HoytsCinema #Maryland #MoviesWithMigs #Cinema

0
@movieethan

-REVIEW- Cinema #Abominable (2019) directed by #JillCulton with the voices of #ChloeBennet #EddieIzzard & #SarahPaulson • RATING: 4/5🌟 • Easily the biggest and most welcome surprise of the year, from DreamWorks who are only well know because of the outstanding How To Train Your Dragon franchise, and this is why I wanted to see Abominable. I had little idea regarding this film and in many cases that's the best way to enter it. Could DW have another hit on their hands? Simply put, Abominable is a beautifully told story of family and culture. It's everything I expected The Farewell to be but annoyingly it was better, its hella emotional too. It had me at tears at points which is honestly getting harder now I'm subjecting myself to a wider range of films. I was drawn to this film because of how much I love the HTTYD films, and I've wanted to rewatch the most recent edition so badly but instead I chose something new. Following a young, Chinese girl, Yi, who discovers a young Yeti on her roof which sets her on a mission to get this creature, aptly named Everest back to Mount Everest, joining her are two friends. All three human character's are drastically different, from child to teen theres a character many moviegoers will connect with, but let's not forget this is a children's adventure film. With a heavy focus on themes for growing up which I'm getting a bit to old for, themes on friendship and family. The usual stuff but the loss of a family member and educates people on a different culture that they're gonna be unfamiliar with until a much older age. As well as lead character, the Yeti. DreamWorks is out there making amazing films on mythical and real creatures, Ogres, Dragons and Kung Fu fighting Pandas! Its such a diverse filmography which I love to watch. Issue is, nearing the end of this year, Abominable marks the 3rd Yeti type animated movie, Missing Link and Smallfoot (latter I haven't seen) released recently, which is a little strange but I likes a bit of Cryptozoology in film. So that's cool. As well as being beautifully animated and with a heartwarming story, this film has another way to tug at you. And it's the use of music. The scores poetic but its..

2
@ig.moviereviews

Film title: Gemini Man // @geminimanmovie Director: Ang Lee Released: 2019 Rating: ⭐️ - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - While Gemini Man promised to be “Twice the Action”, it was unfortunately a display of how CGI can be detrimental to a movie. It was extremely noticeable when actors were in front of a green screen rather than an actual location, and it felt the actors realised it too based on some of the cardboard performances put out by a strong cast. On top of that, the CGI will smith was just about passable in dark scenes, but was extremely poor in well-lit environments. An example of how a full CGI human is still a long way from presentable and should have simply masked a young will smiths face onto a physical body (much like how they made Chris Evans look skinny in Captain America). While a fully CGI character worked in Ang Lee’s Life of Pi, it was simply down to the fact that we don’t spend our lives around Tigers, and so we wouldn’t notice the little discrepancies the computer creates. Because we spend our lives around other humans, we subconsciously and instantly recognise when something is even the smallest bit out of place, making it a brave, and unfortunately in this case, underwhelming decision. The story was predictable, and the fight scenes were the sort that sound great when you’re joking about in pre-production, but should never make it into the shoot. Worst of all was the sound, or should I say, the lack of. Dialogue was so clearly dubbed at points and some action scenes could have been partially rescued, simply by some sound. This is one you should save your money on and wait for it to hit a streaming service (even then I’d be half tempted to use the time watching something else). Written by @thedanbenham - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - #geminiman #geminimanmovie #movie #moviereview #film #filmreview #cinema #review #rating #anglee #willsmith

0
@movieethan

-REVIEW- Cinema #GeminiMan (2019) directed by #AngLee with #WillSmith #MaryElizabethWinstead #CliveOwen & #BenedictWong • RATING: 2/5🌟 • Gemini Man is a film released way later that it should be, a film that pushes special effects and choosing to be shot in a high frame rate is something Ang Lee probably should've done when he made that Hulk movie a good 17 years ago, as a visionary something like that should be expected, but after the incredible Life Of Pi. Nothing could come close. Let alone a dumb and bland action movie. We can only hope he's made this to fund something else spectacular. This film puts present day, somewhat serious actor Will Smith against 90s and comedy actor Will Smith in an uninteresting action premise, Both Smith's play a Henry Brogan, a man who wants to retire after a life of assassinations and being a spy. He isn't allowed to do this and is hunted across the globe, over a few days, by a young CGI version of himself. At times its interesting purely because of how silly it is, providing sufficient entertainment in a very quick runtime. It goes by quickly. A film paced well to a point I was never switched off by the events of the film. Doesn't mean it was great though. Every now n then a decent action sequence would play out, one that pushed this high frame rate to the limit. As well as special effects, which disappointingly weren't all that good in places, visable in all the wrong ways. Especially young Will Smith, or Junior during many action sequences of the film, just to balance this out, the stunts were good, the whole bike chase was amazing to watch in general. Not forgetting the sound too. Able to feel each powerful gun shot whilst watching a film like this always provides a good in-cinema feeling. Everything I found was predictable, finding our characters downfall out easily, and of course it would end like that. Far too simple, it's a safe bet which thankfully closes the door for anymore films like this. I'm glad. Everything else regarding this film is as standard, decent everywhere else but far from amazing, performances are okay, can't wait to watch Mary Elizabeth Winstead kick ass on Birds of Prey next year though, and I...

2
@king_grant_the_first

From the first time I saw this film one week ago, to this very moment, I haven't stopped thinking about Joker once. Joaquin Phoenix, who is always great, gives the best performance of his career. His commitment to this role is mesmerizing. But that's not all this film has. It's themes are fantastically realized and thought-provoking. The cinematography is great and adds a lot to the film. Now my negative is also weirdly a positive. It's so disturbing that it's hard to watch, making rewatching unlikely. But I love that it feels so real because it adds to the themes. Overall, Joker shows off an Oscar-worthy performance in a film that never once feels like a comic book movie. 9.5/10. #joker #jokermovie #joaquinphoenix #toddphillips #comicbook #comicbookmovie #comic #movie #moviereview #movielover #moviefan #film #filmreview #filmlover #filmfan #awardsseason #oscarseason #oscars #martinscorsese #taxidriver #kingofcomedy

2
@last_week_tomorrow

repost: @cinemark On October 25th, show them what you’re made of. #BlackAndBlueMovie tickets are on sale NOW. Link in bio!

1
@graphicarticulation

#GodzillaKingoftheMonsters [2019] 6/10 #IMDB 6.2/10 #RottenTomatoes 41% #Metacritic 48% 💫 If it wasn't for the outstanding CGI I would have given it a lower rating. But it did so here we are. This may be one of the biggest films the Michael Dougherty has done so well done to him but it is a shame that the best thing about this is the CGI and the few actions scenes we get which is also plastered with CGI. This wouldn't be an issue if the story was strong and we got some Titan/Kaiju character development but we didn't really. A few explanations here and there but nothing that made you want to pull out a note pad and jot down interesting things. 💫 The major letdown of this movie is the heavy involvement of humans. There's no character development or even a stark story between them. There are one too many moments where you see great scenes where the monsters fight which is quickly taken away by the interference of humans. 💫 The title of the movie gives the impression we will see a lot of Godzilla but we don't which is quite a shame. 💫 A lot of mindless action and pointless scenes they think people want to see. People wanted to see Godzilla. . . . #movie #movies #film #films #moviecritic #moviereview #filmreview #kaiju #filmcritic #filmreviews #moviereviews #cinema #cineaste #cinephile #actors #acting #filmcommunity #moviecommunity #moviejunkie #moviereviewer

2
@the.sound.critic

SPOILER ALERT: If you haven't watched the movie yet DO NOT read this post. Really spent time on this one so hopefully it goes smoothly. Also slide four got deleted and I can't make another so F in the chat for slide number 4. . . . . #moviereview #movie #movies #filmreview #film #cinema #review #moviereviews #podcast #films #cinephile #moviebuff #filmreviews #reviews #comedy #movieaddict #moviereviewer #movienight #movielover #movietime #moviegeek #horror #movierecommendation #cinematography #cinephilecommunity #netflix #action #thriller #filmmaking #joker

14
@helen_in_da_movieland

0
@nojasononlyzuul

****FRIDAY THE 13TH PART VI: JASON LIVES**** (1986) . Now this is what I'm talking about!! One of the three Friday the 13th movies I've never seen and it had everything I needed 😂 It seems I've seen all the worst of the series and was informed I've somehow managed to miss three of the best including this one so I thought I'd make them part of my October line up. This is definitly the most self aware Friday movie I've seen before it became awful, from the bond esq intro to the ridiculous paintball enthusiasts this had me chuckling throughout. Some pretty good kills and more importantly it's the only movie in the series that actually got me with a jump scare. Good kills great humour and the most 80s outfits I ever did see with a soundtrack to match. Do yourself a favour and if you've not seen any of these  movies don't do what I did and leave this one to near the end 😐 honestly I don't know what I am sometimes. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . #fridaythe13th #fridaythe13thjasonlives #fridaythe13thpart6 #jasonvorhees #campcrystallake #moviereview #review #filmreview #moviereviews #horror #filmcritic #movies #movie #film #instareview #instamovie #nojozoreviews #moviegram #horrormovie #horrormovies #horrorstories #horrorhound #horrorlover #horrorcommunity #horrorgeeks #instahorror #horrorjunkie #horrorgeek #moviegeek

0
@vero_canalini

Al cinema, quello americano è un sogno che davvero non muore mai. L’affabulazione come creazione mitopoietica di racconti aggreganti persiste nello spaziotempo del racconto filmico e agisce come opzione – vincente – del contemporaneo. Rinnovata in relazione all’orizzonte contestuale eppure sempre, straordinariamente identica a se stessa, l’idea di una narrazione forte si lega per genesi all’obiettivo principe di assorbire nell’universo finzionale lo spettatore, corpo senza peso che viaggia a settemila giri al minuto, rigettato fuori per guardarsi dentro, verso la soglia liminale oltre la quale l’unica domanda che conta è: chi sei? Per la recensione completa di Le Mans '66: @indieeye . . #jamesmangold #lemans66 #fordvsferrari #mattdamon #christianbale #ford #tracyletts #remogirone #enzoferrari #ferrari #cinema #cinematography #filmreview #moviecomingsoon #20thcenturyfox #hollywood #classicmovie

0
@scrfilmreviews

The Witch (2015) - ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Dir. by Robert Eggers . After years of working primarily on short films, first time director Robert Eggers burst into the horror spotlight in 2015 with his utterly haunting New England folktale, The Witch. Set in the 1630s, we follow a family of Puritan English settlers as they attempt to establish their new lives amidst the harsh, untouched New England landscape. Through its brilliant use of natural lighting, historically accurate sets, and intricate costume design, The Witch boasts a mise-en-scène that evokes a true sense of isolation and dread unlike any other film I have seen. Unafraid to tackle complex theological topics like predestination, religious dissent, and demonic possession, Eggers has created a bleak, disturbing, and eerie cinematic experience that asks difficult questions of its audience and intentionally leaves most unanswered.

1
@fuzz_film_reviews

My review of #Yesterday. Looking forward to a rewatch!

1
@movies_trending

DoLittle After losing his wife seven years earlier, the eccentric Dr. John Dolittle (Downey), famed doctor and veterinarian of Queen Victoria’s England, hermits himself away behind the high walls of Dolittle Manor with only his menagerie of exotic animals for company. But when the young queen (Jessie Buckley) falls gravely ill, a reluctant Dolittle is forced to set sail on an epic adventure to a mythical island in search of a cure, regaining his wit and courage as he crosses old adversaries and discovers wondrous creatures. Release Date: January 17, 2020 #dolittle #movies #movie #films #film #moviestrending #robertdowneyjr #antoniobanderas #hughlofting #michaelsheen #emmathompson #ramimalek #johncena #kumailnanjiani #octaviaspencer #tomholland #craigrobinson #ralphfiennes #selenagomez #movietime #movieposter #marioncotillard #moviereview #filmreview #instareview #instamovies #moviestowatch #newmovie #newmovies

0
@supermarcelworld

My Retro-Review for today’s 25th Anniversary of Wes Craven's New Nightmare is UP! (Link in Bio). Sometimes i feel like i might even love this one MORE than the original...😱 Do you love the film as much as i do?? Let me know below! . . . . . #freddykrueger #newnightmare #anightmareonelmstreet #nightmareonelmstreet #freddy #fredkrueger #mikohughes #johnsaxon #heatherlangenkamp #wescraven #ripwescraven #wescravensnewnightmare #robertenglund #horror #horrorgeek #horrorfan #horrornerd #horrorgram #heydylaneverplayedskinthecat #nancythompson #newlinecinema #critic #filmcritic #filmreview #heydylaneverplayskinthecat

1
@matineegal1911

The Joker (2019) One of 2019 most commented movies. I gotta say I was very skeptical at first. Movies often portrait an "empty" Joker what you see is what you get. However this movie turned out great. It broke all my expectations. Starting with Todd Phillips as a director known for his Hangovers and funny movies took me by surprise. This guy was able to make the most beautiful shots (colorwise and scenery) with the most simple things. On the other hand Joaquin did an awesome job too bad they didn't exploit all his potential. He had the gift to make you feel his desperation at times. Movie's great to portraits one of societies main problems which is mental health and how society contributes to it by not taking it as concerning as it is. Give it an 9 #movienight #filmreview #movie #filmrate #film #movieaddict #movierating #moviereview #thejoker #joaquinphoenix #thebatman

0
@scannainch

Had the absolute pleasure of catching one of three screenings in Ireland of #TheIrishman last night in Cork. A lot of masters at work here creating an engaging, thrilling piece of cinema the likes of which only Scorsese could craft. Directed by #MartinScorsese written by #StevenZaillian based #IHeardYouPaintHouses by #CharlesBrant starring #RobertDeNiro #JoePesci #AlPachino and many more terrific performances. Chronicling the life Frank "The Irishman" Sheeran as he worked for the Bufalino crime syndicate of Pennsylvania and the teamsters union with Jimmy Hoffa. There's so many fantastic elements throughout this film it's damn near impossible to fit it all in an Instagram review but I'll try my best. When one thinks of directing in the modern age it's hard to think of a safer pair of hands than Scorsese. Even when he's being lofty the likes of #Silence he's crafting some of the most visual stunning images you could ever hope to see transposed on film. Irishman is no different, while it seems to have been shot in part in digital due to the digital de-aging and some high frame rate slow motion sequences, he is just an absolute master of crafting such stunning imagery in every scene. The real joy of this film comes however in the three primary performances from it's central cast, while DeNiro takes the lead there's an argument to be made that he's the least engaging character of the main cast. I could not take my eyes of Pesci every time I saw him on the screen, for an actor that devolved into broad comedy for much of his later career, he stole absolutely every scene he was in. Pachino played the enigmatic Jimmy Hoffa and leant into the broadness and comical elements of his larger than life counterpart, he stands out and delivers on ever mark. DeNiro then becomes the quiet mark, whose caught up in a world the audience lives through and doesn't feel as exciting. There's been much talk about the de-aging process and of course, initially it is a bit jarring, particularly the first time we see DeNiro, his eyes pop too much (I'd imagine contacts) but it never feels terribly over relied on, simply peppering the backstory.

3
@americanchaingang

0
Next »